Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Kyle
    Forum Participant

I’m restoring a Westinghouse model 99. Replacing the caps and resistors. One mica cap has been replaced in the past. I’m thinking about replacing all of them just to be safe. I have the mica values that I need but I have no info on what voltage rating they are. The Westinghouse manual called them toothpick condensers and they are thin. Is there a way to find out what the voltages are?

Jerry Tombari
    Forum Participant

My advice would be not to replace the mica caps. Who knows why one was replaced. It could have been on spec. I have been doing this for three years now and have never replaced one. Get the radio working and then worry about it. I would also analyse the schematic and try and figure out what the voltages could be.
    Good luck

phil
    Forum Participant

i’ve bought caps in the picofarad range from lees electronics. as I recall they were 650V ones I think they had a high enough rating but from all I have heard I agree with Jerry. they usually don’t’ fail and if they do you can probably get a replacement or perhaps steal one from another radio.
    the ones you have, do they look like dominoes?

phil
    Forum Participant